jump to navigation

Review: Legend of the Seeker July 20, 2009

Posted by SolarSoda in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

As someone who has never read Terry Goodkind’s “The Sword of Truth” book series, I went into the ABC/Disney TV show, “Legend of the Seeker” with no expectations whatsoever. It became immediately obvious to me what fans of the book series thought of the TV show: they pretty much hate it, with my husband being one notable exception (he doesn’t hate it exactly; he was mostly just disappointed with it). I am editing this post to include a link that really does more justice to reviewing the TV series than I have done here: click here to read it, it’s got a TON of pictures with clever captions.

As for me, well … I thought the TV show was among the best I’ve seen. The acting, particularly the actor who played Zeddicus, was great; the visual effects were absolutely breathtaking, and not overdone (I particularly loved the interpretation of the boundary); the storyline was suspenseful and interesting; the costumes were fabulous – Kahlan’s confessor dress, Zedd’s robe, especially the Daharran’s and Mord’Sith’s uniforms. The TV show as a work of artistic vision that drew it’s inspiration from Terry Goodkind’s literary work stands alone as a great contribution in and of itself. No, it’s nothing like the books; but as long as you go into it not expecting it to be, then you won’t be disappointed.

Of course, there are some pesky continuity issues. You know the type: in one scene so-and-so’s head is tilted downward looking at the ground, and the cut to the opposite view shows their head is tilted up looking in a different direction. Aside from that (which frankly you will find no matter what you’re watching) I have no complaints about this little show.

Comments»

1. Fortress Guy - August 4, 2009

Yeah, the readers do not care for it as we who may not have read the series. However, I thought the Mord Sith outfits, while interesting, were just over the top.

The show was interesting, at times exciting but not always fun.

Here is my take on it with a little humor and lots o’ pics if you are interested.

Legend of the Seeker [2008-2009] Season 1. 22 Episodes


Leave a comment